Archive for February, 2011

February 27, 2011

Stateless – Matilda [2011]

Style: Electronic / Trip-Hop / Ninja-Tune

Wow, one of the most original things I’ve heard in a while.
I’m not usually a fan of music with lots of vocals, but I really dig this guys voice and style.
Or maybe I’m just a bit biased because I find it impossible to dislike anything Warp or Ninja Tune put out.

Check it out regardless of your tastes! But even more so if you enjoy the likes of Eskmo and Baths(and I hope you do)


February 26, 2011


February 26, 2011

Mighty Antlers

February 26, 2011

The Backwater Gospel

February 26, 2011

William Basinski – A Red Score In Tile

A Red Score In Tile was released on the Three Poplars label (founded by Andrew Chalk and Christoph Heeman in 2000) as an LP limited to 600 copies. this may seem a lot compared to many runs from the other posts here, but as this is william basinski, the fact it’s now out of print hardly comes as a suprise. For me though, this is still an understated record of amazing beauty when compared to the success of his most famous work ‘the disintegration loops’ (which is amazingly all still available to buy on william basinski’s site here, and you really ought to)

aside from the fact this is one of my most favourite records, i found everything i felt i could say within this review (or at least, that you would want to hear):-

“Inspired by James Elaine’s painting of the same title, Basinski created this extremely minimal composition. The piece takes up both sides of the record, and since it is comprised of a single loop repeated for the entire duration, my first thought is that it might have been better suited for release on CD. But perhaps having that second side—dividing the listener’s attention by insisting on an interlude—is deliberate, serving a specific purpose. The piece is quiet, muted, mysterious; a few chords on piano, a slow tape loop, repeated from start to finish. Perhaps nothing happens during the duration of the piece, or perhaps there are slight shifts, disintegrations, changes. If there are, they happen so subtly and so gradually that I didn’t notice as I listened, even though my thoughts were captivated all the way through. The entire recording, sounding quite shaky and distorted, is marked by a certain fragility, as if the tape itself is going to break apart at any moment. After listening, you resurface to a world that still seems to sound like this bewitching composition, resounding off the walls, suspended quietly in the air, in the very air you breathe. [Richard di Santo]”!download|475l33|178481468|William_Basinski_-_A_Red_Score_in_Tile.rar|55931

A A Red Score In Tile Pt. 1 (25:56)

B A Red Score In Tile Pt. 2 (21:50)

February 23, 2011

Field Rotation – Acoustic Tales [2011]

Style: Electronic, Neo-Classical

Been listening to this every time I sleep, for over a week now. Pretty nice stuff. Not something you should really approach unless the mood is right – lights off, head on pillow. I usually fall asleep during the 2nd track, so I had to put it on random shuffle before I lay down, so I could enjoy some of the other tracks for a change…


February 23, 2011

V.A – The silence was warm vol.3


V.A – The silence was warm vol.3
Genre : Electronic, Ambient, Drone

Buy It!

disc 1:
1. melodium – ritournelle
2. taishin inoue – dystopian air castle
3. talvihorros – rusak
4. hakobune – shimokume
5. teruyuki nobuchika – a day
6. shotahirama – conversation peace
7. flotel – yclept
8. konntinent – caster
9. hessien – falling down around us
10. the 2nd colony – yarn
11. melodium – the decline of iron

disc 2:
1. umin – F/re
2. line spectra – III
3. maps and diagrams – a view from below
4. – we’ve seen things hit Jupiter before
5. yu miyashita – telomere stop
6. ard bit – tois
7. darren mcclure – shibuya module reform
8. set in sand – relax on a deeper level
9. thisquietarmy – sunday regenerating
10. amorph – waves
11. hopeless local marching band – and the man cannot describe himself


Consider a Japanese equivalent of the Kompakt’s pop ambient series, but approached through the lens of sound art and experimental domains, and you begin to have an impression of The Silence was Warm Vol. 3. Compiled by Kentaro Togawa this double cd spans 22 tracks that in some manner or form approach the theme of ‘rebuild’. The artists included form three subgroups, Symbolic Interaction artists; Melodium, Set in Sand, Konntinent, Ard Bit, Hakobune and Darren McClure, Japanese artists; Teruyuki Nobuchila, Yu Miyashita, Taishin Inoue, shotahirama , Hopeless Local Marching Band, the 2nd colony and overseas artists;, Flotel, thisquietarmy, Maps and Diagrams, Umin, Talvihorros, Amorph, Hessien, Line Spectra.

Edited highlights of the album start with the minimal bright electronic with kooky clatter beat with warbling melody of ‘Ritournelle’ by Melodium. Talivhorro’s ‘Rusak’ plunges into post rock landscape of acoustic guitar meets soundscaping with electronics in a recurring tone and wired out electric guitar playing distant background sculptural noise which becomes more integral to the soundscape. Teruyki Nobuchika presents a more modern classical piano with pristine tonal electronic signals pulsing through the mix in ‘A Day’. Maps and Diagrams ‘A view from below’ is the closest to a ambient groove track on the album with static warmth and crackle and a slow paced dubbed electronic track. Darren McClure produces a full textured ‘Shibuya Module Reform’ with close miked up effects on objects, bells, bowls, scraping of surfaces wielded into sonic shapes amidst drones, weaving guitars in and out, all forming a sharp dimensional form. The Hopeless Marching Band finish off the compilation with ‘and the man cannot describe himself’ a slow slightly off kilter piano and effects moving into a melancholic drumbeat piano denouement of a track, as if signalling the carnival is over but the sound is still fused in their display, playing the downbeat into a post-rock wall of guitar fuzz and the party is over.

It’s a compilation consistent high standards with its production and mastering by Rudi Arapahoe crisp and dimensional. Covering areas of ambient, glitch, modern classical, drone, post-rock and soundart it is a comprehensive round-up of the edge of contemporary experimental ambient in Japan and beyond

February 21, 2011


plinth • albatross [deadslackstring, 2010]

Michael Tanner: “The influence of alcohol and cold weather led me to believe I could cover the entirety of Fleetwood Mac’s ‘Albatross’ by myself with an out-of-tune Telecaster and a loop pedal. I could not. In the art of failing miserably, something new was created. Also featuring Aine O’Dwyer on harp, Richard Moult and Nick Palmer (Directorsound) on piano alongside various bowed strings and harmonium. Guitars recorded by Andria Degens in Hastings on New Years Eve 2007 and New years Day 2008 (except track 5 which was recorded some time earlier at home)”deadslackstring 

February 21, 2011

making time stop evaporating

1 : coquinete :: arbore & birds
2 : made of soil :: polypus sapiens
3 : stitch :: carla kihlstedt and shahzad ismaily
4 : déjè-entendu :: kim doo soo
5 : baby held :: jacques butters
6 : moving up a ways :: meg baird
7 : in liquid words :: temple of lib
8 : the virtues of the fuck-up :: anvil salute
9 : rainbow blues :: kurt weisman
10 : mysteries :: donovan quinn & the 13th month
11 : making time stop evaporating :: equinox, the peacekeeper
12 : river :: mountain man
13 : chant of spiral continuum :: elektronavn
14 : il primo cerchio :: donato epiro
15 : cylinders :: voice of the seven thunders
16 : aleph :: super minerals
17 : steely lands :: willie lane

compilation by medina 



February 21, 2011

Padang food tigers